Interest in CBD Oils and other CBD products and veganism are both increasingly popular and so it seems sensible to ask “Is CBD suitable for vegans?”
CBD is short for cannabidiol and is a chemical found in hemp plants and since it is extracted from plants, CBD in itself is of course 100% vegan. However the versatility of CBD means that it can be added to other ingredients and it can be processed in different ways to make it into other products. Some of these may not be suitable for vegans, so here are some things to look out for:
CBD Oils – CBD oils usually only contain CBD, a carrier oil and maybe a colour or flavouring. Most trustworthy brands will only include a high-quality carrier oil like olive oil, hemp seed oil or coconut oil. It’s always a good idea to carefully check the label to ensure there are no hidden animal products. All Sativa Gold Premium CBD oils are 100% CBD oil and are vegan friendly.
CBD Capsules – These are made with an edible shell and hold a precise amount of CBD oil; they are ideal if you want a discreet way to take CBD or want to carry it without fearing spills or leaks. With some capsules, the shell or soft-gel is made using gelatine. The vegan versions are made using plant-based gelatin alternatives. All of the Sativa Gold CBD capsules are 100% vegan and cruelty free.
Gel Caps – Sativa Gold CBD Gel Caps are jelly like GelCaps which allow for the slow release of CBD to be absorbed through the blood vessels under the tongue. These are not suitable for vegetarians or vegans as they contain gelatine.
CBD Creams – These are also sometimes called CBD Topicals. Some people like to use CBD creams, especially for joint pain and skin conditions, they can be used to repair, restore, calm and provide instant relief from many skin conditions. CBD creams contain more ingredients and so it’s important to look carefully at the ingredients and check that they are animal product and cruelty-free. All of the Sativa premium CBD creams are 100% vegan and cruelty free. Our CBD skin care products are infused only with pure CBD, essential oils, plant oils & plant extracts.
CBD Gummies – These are chewy, flavoured treats that deliver a measured amount of CBD. Because of their jelly-like structure, they may contain bovine gelatine. Look out for gummies clearly labelled as vegan; these are made using vegan gelatine alternatives.
CBD Edibles – CBD can be added to most foods and many shops, coffee-shops and online stores carry a range of sweets, chocolates, drinks and even pastries. What is included in these items is entirely down to the manufacturer, so they should be treated just like any other food; look carefully through the ingredients and check for labels or certificates that indicate it is suitable for vegans.
Because CBD is not a licensed medical product there is no requirement to test it on animals in any way. Given its long history of human consumption, albeit in a less targeted way, and that many non-animal studies have confirmed it as safe to use, there is simply no reason why any producer would need to test their CBD products on animals.
In summary, if you are wondering Is CBD suitable for vegans? CBD Oil is almost always 100% vegan, but you should be particularly careful about checking the ingredients of other CBD products.